Cucumber is a refreshing vegetable, especially if picked up fresh. It is known for its crunchy and refreshing taste and is eaten in a variety of ways: raw in salads, cooked, or pickled! It is easy to grow and requires warm, sunny exposure and deep, regular watering.

Discover the names of the best climbing vegetables you can grow vertically here

Benefits of Growing Cucumbers Vertically

One advantage of Growing Cucumbers Vertically is that you can avoid a common problem of fruit rot associated with cucumber cultivation. It happens when fruits sit in moist soil for a prolonged period.

Allowing cucumber vines to grow vertically improves the air circulation around the plant, which prevents fungal diseases.

Cucumber plants have a sprawling habit, and growing cucumbers vertically allow their leaves to absorb more sun, which results in healthy plant and large cucumbers. One more key benefit is that you can harvest the fruits more easily and on time.

Why Should You Grow Cucumbers Vertically?

When cucumbers are grown on the ground (horizontally), they usually cover 10-20 square feet of space–plant sprawls over the surface around it. However, smaller and bushier varieties take only 1/3 of this space, but they produce fewer fruits.

Climbing, vine-type varieties are more productive, and when you grow them vertically, they barely take 1-2 square feet of space, climbing up by the support of a trellis or cage.

Learn how to grow cucumbers on trellis here

How to Grow Cucumbers Vertically

Choosing a Container and Trellis

If you’re growing cucumbers in containers vertically, prefer large containers that are more than 12 inches deep and wide; for a non-bushier vining variety, select a much bigger 18 inches size pot.

How many cucumber plants you can grow in such a container depends on the variety you are planting. A vining variety grows tall and sends long roots, so it needs a large pot, whereas bushier types are short and can be grown in standard size pots.

Trellis Size

Choose a 5 to 6 feet tall trellis that is sturdy and doesn’t topple. If growing climbing varieties, use an “A-frame trellis” so that the plant crawls up and down from it easily. You can also use coir ropes to direct the vines.

Want to make homemade cucumber trellis? Check out these free projects here

Propagation and Planting Cucumbers

Sow seeds directly onto the desired spot or in small pots. Cover them with about 2 cm of soil. Once the seedlings germinate and have a few true leaves, transplant the healthiest of them into a bigger pot or on the frost-free ground in spring or summer, ideally, when the soil temperature is at least around 65 F (18 C) or more.

If you live in a tropical or subtropical climate, you can grow cucumbers year-round.

The cucumber plant is a heavy feeder like tomatoes–prepare your soil well before planting it on the ground by incorporating well-rotted manure and compost.

Don’t miss these tomato growing tips in pots here

Requirements for Growing Cucumbers Vertically

Position

Cucumber loves a location that is warm and has sunny exposure, it should be less windy, too, but air circulation must not be compromised. And because cucumber originated in South Asia, it does not like temperatures dipping below 50 F (10 C). The optimum temperature to grow cucumbers falls in the range of 60–95 F (15–35 C).

Soil

It prefers well-drained, loose and deep soil, rich in organic matter and neutral in pH. For containers, you can use your potting mix enriched with good quality compost or organic cattle manure.

Learn how to grow perennial cucumber here 

Watering

Regular and deep watering is the key to getting a productive cucumber harvest. It is due to the high water content of its fruits. While watering, avoid wetting the foliage as it may encourage fungal diseases like mildew.

Mulching

If you’re growing cucumber in your garden, it’s important to mulch around the base of the plant to improve the moisture-retaining ability of the soil.

Fertilizer

At the time of planting, mix all-purpose slow-release fertilizer in the soil. Once the plant starts to flower, side-dress with aged manure, and also apply balanced liquid fertilizer at that time according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

You can also use Epsom salt on your cucumber plants. To learn more, click here

Diseases and Pests

Cucumber plants particularly suffer from anthracnose, powdery mildew, downy mildew, and leaf spot. To learn more about the diseases and how to save your plant from them, check out this informative article here. In pests, look out for aphids, spider mites, whiteflies, and other common garden pests.

To reduce disease and pest related problems, follow these measures: Regularly check your plants for early signs, provide good air circulation, avoid overhead watering, grow resistant varieties, and don’t plant your cucumber plant at the exact location for more than 2-3 years (applicable when growing cucumbers in the garden bed).

Harvesting Cucumbers

When and How to Harvest Cucumbers?

Cucumbers are ready for harvest in 60 to 90 days, depending more on the variety and growing conditions. Pick them when they are developed enough, firm on touch, smooth to look, and crunchy in taste. Do not let the fruits overripe!

What are the best pickling cucumber varieties? Find their names here

  • Louise Delgado

  • February 4, 2016 At 12:44 pm

  • Thank you so much for the informative post! I am planing to harvest cucumbers this year in my garden, so I try to collect as much as possible useful information. Your tips are very helpful and well explained. Best regards

  • Reply

  • Mj

  • July 10, 2020 At 1:21 am

  • Thanks!

  • Reply

  • Leo

  • March 11, 2016 At 2:22 am

  • Thank you for the great information, I just sowed my first seeds and this will help me growing a good crop.

  • Reply

  • Nancy Pelosi

  • June 29, 2020 At 2:43 am

  • Great. Use the time you save to take some English (American) Grammar lessons.

  • Reply

  • Sarra Blair

  • April 2, 2021 At 1:52 am

  • That is incredibly rude and unnecessary

  • Reply

  • Terry Walsh

  • April 27, 2022 At 10:42 pm

  • But that’s how Nancy pelosi is…..

  • Reply

  • Vicky Cox

  • April 26, 2022 At 11:04 pm

  • What a bitchy comment. I bet you’re tons of fun to be around.

  • Reply

  • Nikki

  • March 13, 2016 At 9:45 pm

  • Can you use a tomato cage or does it need to be a trellis?

  • Reply

  • admin

  • March 14, 2016 At 7:20 am

  • You can use tomato cages but cucumbers grow quickly and climb high, it would be better if you can stack two pairs of tomato cages stacked together vertically. Anything that is 5-6′ works best.

  • Reply

  • Ethel Ammon

  • June 21, 2019 At 4:58 pm

  • What a wonderfull information I was looking for .im so happy to read all the info I need to complete my one plant of cukes 😊

  • Reply

  • Omar

  • April 29, 2016 At 4:45 pm

  • I love cucumber, your step by step instructions make it easy to grow cucumbers, wish me luck (:

  • Reply

  • Ryan Scott

  • May 31, 2016 At 8:43 am

  • I do not have cucumber yet. Thanks for this.

  • Reply

  • Beth

  • June 19, 2016 At 3:20 am

  • Very helpful tips. The last couple years I have not been able to grow cucumbers and wasn’t sure why. Hopefully now I will reap a bountiful harvest

  • Reply

  • Gerry

  • June 29, 2016 At 5:00 am

  • What kind of trelis do you provide for the plants? You say 5 – 6 ” tall framework, but what do the plants cling to while they are growing tall?

  • Reply

  • WW

  • January 31, 2017 At 10:36 pm

  • Chicken wire works well

  • Reply

  • Kgomotso Sehume

  • July 14, 2016 At 9:46 pm

  • I planted cucumbers two years back, but my production was not so good. Thank you for this useful exciting information. I am planning to prepare from tomorrow.

  • Reply

  • Marilyn

  • January 30, 2017 At 10:34 pm

  • 2 sections pf hogwhire connected with appropriate connectors will for m a tent like structure that is self supporting. When not in use it folds in half. I have also used it for tomatoes but on its side rather than upright.

  • Reply

  • Michele

  • March 9, 2017 At 12:11 am

  • I have an old storage tub that I plan on using for my cucumbers this year, do I have to drill drainage holes in it?

  • Reply

  • Hugo

  • January 23, 2018 At 4:22 pm

  • I would to prevent the roots from getting waterlogged

  • Reply

  • mona

  • March 13, 2017 At 3:47 pm

  • Didn’t know there where bush cucumbers and vine cucumbers. Thx for info. Is t same thing true of zucchini? My zucchini went nowhere despite trellis ready for it

  • Reply

  • Jessica Vaughn

  • April 24, 2017 At 2:45 am

  • Can you start trellising them once they have already started growing

  • Reply

  • Lafifi

  • May 22, 2017 At 9:57 am

  • Thanks for this more information, there very helpful for me

  • Reply

  • Jackie

  • July 5, 2017 At 3:54 pm

  • How tall should I let my plants grow for best harvesting results?

  • Reply

  • Frank

  • September 30, 2017 At 4:13 pm

  • You forgot to mention Cucumber Beetle. Very destructive here in Connecticut. The beetle itself just does some leaf & bud munching, but it carries the virus that kills the plant. I have resorted to Remay cloth to cover and only grow self seeding varieties. Had a nice Pickle Type harvest this year with “Little leaf” variety.

  • Reply

  • Karen R

  • March 16, 2018 At 3:45 pm

  • Will a fanned trellis with chicken wire wrapped around it,..work good ? As long as I follow your great instruction of how-to.

  • Reply

  • Esther4Jesus

  • January 14, 2019 At 5:41 pm

  • Please how do I get the seed to plant

  • Reply

  • Ejambi Vialy Azaah

  • December 11, 2020 At 9:30 pm

  • Where are you located?? I can supply it to you

  • Reply

  • Kimberly Lindgren

  • March 19, 2019 At 11:04 pm

  • Do you have a specific type of cucumber you would recommend growing?

  • Reply

  • olu richard

  • January 14, 2020 At 9:27 pm

  • What part of cucumber plant is foliage, that should not be watered to avoid fungal disease

  • Reply

  • Sybylla

  • March 28, 2021 At 7:40 am

  • Cucumbers are classified as either vining types or bush types. Vining types should be chosen for vertical gardening, as they will grow straight up a vertical support.

  • Reply

  • Arabella

  • April 2, 2021 At 5:06 am

  • Cucumbers are classified as either vining types or bush types. Vining types should be chosen for vertical gardening, as they will grow straight up a vertical support.

  • Reply

  • E

  • April 26, 2022 At 4:04 am

  • Thank you for this.. I may try to grow cucumbers this year since I have this information..

  • Reply

  • Mj

  • July 10, 2020 At 1:21 am

  • Thanks!

  • Reply

Thank you so much for the informative post! I am planing to harvest cucumbers this year in my garden, so I try to collect as much as possible useful information. Your tips are very helpful and well explained. Best regards

Thanks!

  • Nancy Pelosi
  • June 29, 2020 At 2:43 am
  • Great. Use the time you save to take some English (American) Grammar lessons.
  • Reply
  • Sarra Blair
  • April 2, 2021 At 1:52 am
  • That is incredibly rude and unnecessary
  • Reply
  • Terry Walsh
  • April 27, 2022 At 10:42 pm
  • But that’s how Nancy pelosi is…..
  • Reply
  • Vicky Cox
  • April 26, 2022 At 11:04 pm
  • What a bitchy comment. I bet you’re tons of fun to be around.
  • Reply

Thank you for the great information, I just sowed my first seeds and this will help me growing a good crop.

  • Sarra Blair
  • April 2, 2021 At 1:52 am
  • That is incredibly rude and unnecessary
  • Reply
  • Terry Walsh
  • April 27, 2022 At 10:42 pm
  • But that’s how Nancy pelosi is…..
  • Reply
  • Vicky Cox
  • April 26, 2022 At 11:04 pm
  • What a bitchy comment. I bet you’re tons of fun to be around.
  • Reply

Great. Use the time you save to take some English (American) Grammar lessons.

  • Terry Walsh
  • April 27, 2022 At 10:42 pm
  • But that’s how Nancy pelosi is…..
  • Reply

That is incredibly rude and unnecessary

But that’s how Nancy pelosi is…..

What a bitchy comment. I bet you’re tons of fun to be around.

  • admin
  • March 14, 2016 At 7:20 am
  • You can use tomato cages but cucumbers grow quickly and climb high, it would be better if you can stack two pairs of tomato cages stacked together vertically. Anything that is 5-6′ works best.
  • Reply
  • Ethel Ammon
  • June 21, 2019 At 4:58 pm
  • What a wonderfull information I was looking for .im so happy to read all the info I need to complete my one plant of cukes 😊
  • Reply

Can you use a tomato cage or does it need to be a trellis?

  • Ethel Ammon
  • June 21, 2019 At 4:58 pm
  • What a wonderfull information I was looking for .im so happy to read all the info I need to complete my one plant of cukes 😊
  • Reply

You can use tomato cages but cucumbers grow quickly and climb high, it would be better if you can stack two pairs of tomato cages stacked together vertically. Anything that is 5-6′ works best.

What a wonderfull information I was looking for .im so happy to read all the info I need to complete my one plant of cukes 😊

I love cucumber, your step by step instructions make it easy to grow cucumbers, wish me luck (:

I do not have cucumber yet. Thanks for this.

Very helpful tips. The last couple years I have not been able to grow cucumbers and wasn’t sure why. Hopefully now I will reap a bountiful harvest

  • WW
  • January 31, 2017 At 10:36 pm
  • Chicken wire works well
  • Reply

What kind of trelis do you provide for the plants? You say 5 – 6 ” tall framework, but what do the plants cling to while they are growing tall?

Chicken wire works well

I planted cucumbers two years back, but my production was not so good. Thank you for this useful exciting information. I am planning to prepare from tomorrow.

2 sections pf hogwhire connected with appropriate connectors will for m a tent like structure that is self supporting. When not in use it folds in half. I have also used it for tomatoes but on its side rather than upright.

  • Hugo
  • January 23, 2018 At 4:22 pm
  • I would to prevent the roots from getting waterlogged
  • Reply

I have an old storage tub that I plan on using for my cucumbers this year, do I have to drill drainage holes in it?

I would to prevent the roots from getting waterlogged

Didn’t know there where bush cucumbers and vine cucumbers. Thx for info. Is t same thing true of zucchini? My zucchini went nowhere despite trellis ready for it

Can you start trellising them once they have already started growing

Thanks for this more information, there very helpful for me

How tall should I let my plants grow for best harvesting results?

You forgot to mention Cucumber Beetle. Very destructive here in Connecticut. The beetle itself just does some leaf & bud munching, but it carries the virus that kills the plant. I have resorted to Remay cloth to cover and only grow self seeding varieties. Had a nice Pickle Type harvest this year with “Little leaf” variety.

Will a fanned trellis with chicken wire wrapped around it,..work good ? As long as I follow your great instruction of how-to.

  • Ejambi Vialy Azaah
  • December 11, 2020 At 9:30 pm
  • Where are you located?? I can supply it to you
  • Reply

Please how do I get the seed to plant

Where are you located?? I can supply it to you

Do you have a specific type of cucumber you would recommend growing?

What part of cucumber plant is foliage, that should not be watered to avoid fungal disease

Cucumbers are classified as either vining types or bush types. Vining types should be chosen for vertical gardening, as they will grow straight up a vertical support.

Thank you for this.. I may try to grow cucumbers this year since I have this information..

LEAVE A REPLY Cancel reply

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.